Where has the respect gone?

I guess this is a look into our future. What happened to showing respect? What happened to common decency? What happened to parents whipping some a**? When I was growing up I would have never thought of treating any adult with the disrespect that Nick Sandmann showed. My parents raised me better. I knew that there would be consequences. I knew the difference between right and wrong.

Nathan Phillip, a Native American elder who to me seemed to be doing nothing more than expressing his beliefs peacefully, using his first amendment rights. This man is a vet, someone who deserves more respect then he will ever receive, was in my opinion provoked by a spoiled child who should have be disciplined more growing up.

Nick Sandmann, a Catholic school student of all things, showed nothing but disrespect. Covington Catholic School should feel ashamed of this student’s action. It reflects poorly on the school, the students and families that are associated with it. When I see the pictures of his smug face it makes me sick. If this was my child I would be embarrassed, angry and remorseful. The fact that someone raised a child to show no respect like this makes my blood boil. This is where we are today. Children who feel self righteous, disrespectful and think the world owes them something. This is our future people.

I have read Nick Sandman’s statement and it seems a bit odd. First of all, why is none of the other students or better yet one of the chaperones speaking up? Secondly, the video clearly shows students mocking Native Americans by doing a tomahawk chop gesture. Lastly, if he was trying to defuse the situation, why not walk away? Instead he stands there and grins. Seems like he is now trying to make himself look better. And where were these chaperones? They are there to look after the students and protect them. They didn’t do a very good job did they?

Nathan Phillip said he seen the situation brewing between the students and the African American protestors and wanted to try to calm it down. He said how everyone was moving out of his way, everyone but Sandmann. He said he felt fear  “Fear, not for myself but for the next generations, fear where this country’s going, fear for those youths, fear for their future, fear for their souls, their spirit, what they’re going to do to this country.” He’s right. This country is heading in the wrong direction. The next generation is our future, we are in trouble people.

People today seem to think that just because they disagree with someone it’s ok to be rude. If they feel something is offensive they can have it removed, they can destroy it or sue you. (ie. Confederate flag, statues) I see people, young and older, walk around with their pants hanging below their knees. Who do I sue because, I find it highly offensive. 

I started blogging to express my opinion. It seems like I’m doing more ranting then anything. Guess that’s what happens when you talk about things going on in our country. What has happened to the country I grew up in? We need a change, a big one. Anyway that’s just my 2 cents.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started